Contagious Laughter?

In Provine’s “Contagious Laughter and the Brain” he states that “When we hear laughter, we tend to laugh in turn, producing a behavioral chain reaction that sweeps through a group…”. Why do we do this? Does everyone do this? I know I definitely do this.

Based on the article, apparently the phenomenon spans cultures, ages, and periods of history. Provine talks about laughing “epidemics” that completely incapacitated its victims. Was it something funny that they were all in on or was in just being together with people you may or may not know, and laughing together?

I would like to take a class poll to see if laughter really is contagious. Embedded below is one of the videos I go to whenever I am feeling like I take life too seriously and it always brings a smile to my face and I’ll be damned if I don’t end up laughing multiple times throughout the 2:48 length video. Please comment as to whether you laughed or smiled or none (you would have to have a heart of stone to not at least crack a smile). Have fun!

1 thought on “Contagious Laughter?”

Leave a Reply

